I feel guilty just looking at it…

51jb1wpi2vl_ss500_.jpg

I feel guilty just looking at this. Don’t you? And yet… if The Luxe followed me home in all of its terrible, satiny pinkness, I’m fairly certain Meg Rosoff wouldn’t stand a chance at the moment. So parents, listen up! This is what happens when you deny your teen the right to read trash now and then, instead feeding her a steady diet of the “Great Works of English Literature.”

If you’ve read this temptress of a book, now’s the moment to:

a) tell me why I should cave and read The Luxe when I have so many proper books in my TBR pile

b) splash some cold water on my face and explain why it’s SO not worth my time or $

My inner-struggle is all thanks to Leah McLaren’s article in today’s Globe and Mail. Then I revisited Naomi Wolf’s NY Times piece on YA Fiction and the response over at Read Roger. I can’t sort it out. I just want the pink satin dress.

10 thoughts on “I feel guilty just looking at it…

  1. shelfelf Post author

    Thanks Jennifer! I love how you’ve got this one in your “Historical Fiction for Hipsters” category. That seems just right. I also like how you point the girly girls towards the titles that (supposedly) inspired this book. I hope that a few teens might by inspired to give Wharton a shot after reading Godbersen’s book.

  2. Sarah

    If you’re anything like me, you’ll be thoroughly frustrated with the writing, and with all the characters – but you can’t put it down, because even if you think you know how it’s going to turn out, you still have to find out!

  3. thereadingzone

    I have to agree with the Sarah above me. While parts of the book frustrated me, I could not put it down. I absolutely loved it and can not wait for the follow-up. :) Oh, and I NEED that dress.

    It is a quick read, and a fluff piece at that. I recommend it.

    -sarah

  4. Em

    It was too predictable. I just couldn’t get into it. That said, I’ll probably read the sequel. Hopefully that one will be a little less predictable.

Leave a Reply

