Twisted Fairy Tale Challenge

banner2.jpg

OK. I know. I said there would be no more signing up for challenges. Well… I lied. Here’s why:

1) Enna Isilee over at Squeaky Books came up with a practically irresistible challenge premise: Twisted Fairy Tales. You read 4 (or more) Twisted Fairy Tales by May 5 /08. They can be books that are not strictly twisted Fairy Tales, but have Fairy Tale elements or themes (like Into the Wild).

2) I was already planning to read 2 fairy-tale-ish books in the next little while (A Curse Dark as Gold / Into the Wild) so I might as well get credit for them… right?

3) She made the prettiest banners that totally match my blog and I had to have one to call my very own.

Enough justification! I am a grown-up reader so I can do whatever I want (so there!). I’m having trouble choosing my 4 books though. 2 are for certain:

A Curse Dark as Gold – Elizabeth Bunce
Into the Wild – Sarah Beth Durst

So… what else:

imagedb7cgi.jpg51sj1uffrrl_ss500_.jpgimagedb1cgi.jpg imagedb3cgi.jpg

imagedb4cgi.jpg imagedb5cgi.jpg imagedb6cgi.jpg51tl9qietil_ss500_.jpg

How ever will I choose from among all of these very girly delights? I’m not thinking that this challenge is going to help much with my “read more books by and about men” reading goal for 2008. Oh well.

13 thoughts on “Twisted Fairy Tale Challenge

  1. shelfelf Post author

    Thanks for your vote! I can’t believe I haven’t read Princess Academy. I know a lot of Shannon Hale fans who say it is their favourite. It will probably “make the final 4.”

  2. Melissa

    East and Princess Academy, though I love Just Ella, too. (Sun and Moon was also good, but not as good as East, IMHO). I should find a few fairy tales and sign up for this one. :)

  3. Elizabeth Bunce

    WILDWOOD DANCING.

    And that’s not just capitalized for formatting. ;) It’s INCREDIBLE. My favorite book of 2007.

    Have fun! This is a great challenge.

    ~ecb

  4. shelfelf Post author

    OK… if Cath AND Elizabeth say Wildwood Dancing, I guess it’s in. Somehow I’m thinking I’ll be reading more than 4 books…

  5. shelfelf Post author

    I’ve heard so many people say they loved East. East of the Sun, West of the Moon is one of my favourite fairy tales ever, so I can’t believe I haven’t read this one yet.

Leave a Reply

