Now I wanna read it: other folks’ reviews

book

I am waiting for my brain power to be restored, if this endless, endless cold/virus/infection thing ever passes. Meanwhile, I have been reading lots of lovely reviews. You should read them too:

The Monstrumologist by Rick Yancy, reviewed by Reading Rants. The lines from the review that got me:

Friends, I can barely contain my morbid delight at having discovered this delightfully gruesome book! Yancy’s bloody tale, written in a delicious Victorian gothic style, is just gory and disturbing as the early Stephen King I devoured as a teen while still being a cracking good yarn between explicit scenes of dismemberment and disembowelment that leave nothing (and I mean NOTHING) to the imagination.

Moxy Maxwell Does Not Love Practicing the Piano by Peggy Gifford, reviewed by Book Nut. The lines from the review that got me:

I love Moxy. I’m not ashamed of this because Moxy is awesome. Very few books make me laugh, chortle, snort, guffaw, and giggle. Moxy makes me do all of those. Perhaps that’s because my sense of humor is not very sophisticated — I mean why does this chapter crack me up every time: “Chapter 29: In Which We Learn What Was Inside The Envelope. Inside THE ENVELOPE was the note.” That’s it. Entire chapter. Cracks me up every time.

The Brilliant Fall of Gianna Z. by Kate Messner, reviewed by The Reading Zone. The lines from the review that got me:

I think girls especially will connect with Gianna.  She isn’t perfect but she is real.  Her imperfections reminded me of a lot of the students I teach every year.  She wants to do well in school but is easily distracted.  However, she is so smart- her interpretation of Robert Frost’s Birches is brilliant and spot-on.  But she doesn’t hand it in, because she thinks it’s not what the teacher wants to hear.

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly, reviewed at Educating Alice, by one of Monica’s 4th grade readers. The lines from the review that got me:

In addition, the book cover is beautiful and makes you feel like Calpurnia. At first when you look at it, it just looks like branches and trees. But if you look and observe it like Calpurnia, you can find many things; books, microscopes, jars, animals, and other kinds of creatures. It will feel like you are at the river with Calpurnia and her grandfather. You may feel like being Calpurnia in the story.

Sigh. Maybe when I’m feeling better and when Christmas comes, I’ll be able to read all of these.

4 thoughts on “Now I wanna read it: other folks’ reviews

  1. Michelle

    The last three books sound like strong female characters and they have all been on my tbr list…I need to bump them up several notches! Hope you are feeling better!

Leave a Reply

