Daily Archives: January 17, 2010

ALA Youth Media Awards Tomorrow

For sure I’ll be watching the ALA Youth Media Awards announcements tomorrow at 7:45am EST. There is a webcast happening, though it suggests here that not everyone will be able to access it. I watched last year. Fun.

Everyone is in prediction mode. I’ll only make two. In my view, When You Reach Me (Stead) is the clear front-runner for the Newbery. I think Marcelo in the Read World (Stork) is likely to get the Printz.

One of the awards I’ll be most interested to see named is the William C. Morris YA Debut Award (because I’ve read one (Hold Still) and there are two on that list that are high up in my TBR pile (Beautiful Creatures, Ash) )

So here are links to reviews of those titles.

Hold Still – Nina La Cour (review by moi)

Ash - Malinda Lo (review by A Chair, a Fireplace & a Tea Cosy)

The Everafter – Amy Huntley (review by Presenting Lenore)

Beautiful Creatures – by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (review TeenReads.com)

Flash Burnout – L.K. Madigan (review by Read This Book)

What are your predictions?