ALA Youth Media Awards Tomorrow

For sure I’ll be watching the ALA Youth Media Awards announcements tomorrow at 7:45am EST. There is a webcast happening, though it suggests here that not everyone will be able to access it. I watched last year. Fun.

Everyone is in prediction mode. I’ll only make two. In my view, When You Reach Me (Stead) is the clear front-runner for the Newbery. I think Marcelo in the Read World (Stork) is likely to get the Printz.

One of the awards I’ll be most interested to see named is the William C. Morris YA Debut Award (because I’ve read one (Hold Still) and there are two on that list that are high up in my TBR pile (Beautiful Creatures, Ash) )

So here are links to reviews of those titles.

Hold Still – Nina La Cour (review by moi)

Ash - Malinda Lo (review by A Chair, a Fireplace & a Tea Cosy)

The Everafter – Amy Huntley (review by Presenting Lenore)

Beautiful Creatures – by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl (review TeenReads.com)

Flash Burnout – L.K. Madigan (review by Read This Book)

What are your predictions?

4 thoughts on “ALA Youth Media Awards Tomorrow

  1. DaNae

    I love the idea of a debut award. Not that think there should be any more awards, it does seem to be getting out of hand, but it would be nice if there were something of the like for Middle-grade fiction.

  2. Caroline

    I’m in the mountain time zone, so it’s a little too early for me to watch, but I can’t wait to find out the winners when I get up! When You Reach Me and Marcelo in the Real World are my picks, too, along with The Lion and the Mouse for the Caldecott.

  3. Lenore

    Thanks for linking to my review!

    I was a bit disapointed that there was no love for LIPS TOUCH, my fave read of 2009. Of course, I haven’t read ANY of the winners so it could always be that they are indeed better…LOL.

Leave a Reply

