Daily Archives: February 14, 2010

The 2009 Cybils Winners Announced!

Yippee because it’s the day that the 2009 Cybils Award are announced (and it’s Valentine’s Day, International Day of Extreme Spoiling for moi).

Naturally, as the Middle Grade fiction organizer, I’m particularly excited to share the winner in that category, but before I do, I’d like to send out a giant thank you to the first round panelists and the judges this year, for your reading and thinking and discussing. Without you, no Cybils. So I’m glad the world is full of such devoted kidslit bloggers.

Middle Grade Fiction Panelists

Sherry Early, Semicolon
Melissa Fox, Book Nut
Abby Johnson, Abby the Librarian
Kyle Kimmal, The Boy Reader
Becky Laney, Becky’s Book Reviews
Sarah Mulhern, The Reading Zone
Sandra Stiles, Musings of a Book Addict

Middle Grade Fiction Judges

Kimberly Baker, Wagging Tales
Stacy Dillon, Welcome to my Tweendom
Monica Edinger, Educating Alice
David Elzey, Excelsior File
(and me – thanks me!)

To all of you, I send a big, superhero cartoonish heart o’ thanks:

And the winner of the 2009 Cybils Award for Middle Grade fiction is…

Chains, by Laurie Halse Anderson. Congratulations Laurie!

For a list of all of the winners, visit the announcement post at the Cybils blog. Well done writers! Well done readers!

(Adorable cheering child picture & superhero-ish heart courtesy of stock-xchng).