Daily Archives: February 20, 2010

Elf Envy: Review Roundup

Man has it been a long week. I’ve been in a bit of a reading slump lately, but now I’m looking forward to having the time to get to a lot of great books I’ve had on my list for a while.

So in the meantime, here are a few reviews that I enjoyed reading recently and made me want to read the books:

Over at Welcome to my Tweendom, Stacy thinks The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place has perfect pacing and a great voice.

Jen at Reading Rants loves Before I Fall in spite of herself. She wrote, “If Sarah Dessen and Jenny Downham collaborated, it might look a little like this rad reinvention of the mean-girl novel.” I have heard only raves about this book. Good thing I have an ARC (be jealous).

Vikki at Pipedreaming loves a new collection of poetry, Think Again, from KCP Poetry. She says, “This is the kind of book I would have loved to receive as a 13 year old, bookish and starry-eyed and ready to taste the world.”

Lorie Ann at readergirlz loves Raina Telgemeir’s Smile. She calls it “expressive and rich… fun, tender and real.” I’m in!

And finally, even though I’ve already read and adored Laini Taylor’s Silksinger, emilyread’s review haiku makes me want to read it and love it all over again.

I promise reviews of my own this week.