Daily Archives: April 14, 2010

Here comes the big, mean dust bunny!

There are dust bunnies in my house.

And all of them are mean. And big. And persistent.

So when I picked up Jan Thomas’ Here comes the big, mean dust bunny! (follow up to Rhyming Dust Bunnies) I was thinking, “Do I really need more big, mean dust bunnies?”

Um yes, apparently I do.

I think it’s because not all of the dust bunnies in this book are big and mean. In fact, most of them are small-ish and cute (and I have a soft spot for the little blue guy who isn’t the fluffiest bunny in the woods).

This is a picture book that is sure to make story time a hoot. It is simple and adorable, with dynamic and bold illustrations. The dust bunnies have a shaggy, muppet-like appearance and their expressions make them instantly endearing and a little bit crazy. Thomas’s book is proof that much of the time the best picture books are about a clever, slightly wacky premise, brought to life with illustrations that perfectly match the tone and style of the story.

I love dust bunnies. Well… I love these dust bunnies.

Here comes the big, mean dust bunny! is published by Beach Lane Books.