The Penderwicks are Perfect

Sometimes, when I feel like the real world gets to be too much (too busy, too full of work, too tiring, too rainy, too “meh”) I turn to my favourite books the way I would sink into a steamy bath. Last week I decided to start rereading The Penderwicks because I was beginning to feel that way about life, and because I know that the third book in the series will be out in May. I need to be ready. I need to be all freshly Penderwicked.

I’d say the Penderwicks are perfect. A large part of the reason why I believe this, is that these stories remind me of some of my most loved childhood books – the closeness of the family, the quirkiness of all of the characters, how the books are child centered without the adults being MIA, and the way that the girls find adventures in their backyard. I loved books like this as a kid, because this was how I wanted the world to be. You see, I was already a nostalgic romantic at the age of ten. The Penderwicks has all the warmth and charm and love of Little Women with a touch of the wildness and gumption and adult-free adventure of Swallows and Amazons.

On the weekend, I discovered this genius idea:

Embroidered book covers by Jillian Tamaki. A-mazing. Don’t you think The Penderwicks would be just the book to receive such glorious treatment? Someone needs to make the case for it.

Finally, how can an author who has loved this many animals, not restore your faith in our crazy world? Read all of her books. And then read them again. Balm for the soul.

One thought on “The Penderwicks are Perfect

  1. miss erin

    I love these sorts of stories. I just read Laurel Snyder’s Any Which Wall and it was perfect and amazing and fun and reminded me so much of being a kid.

Leave a Reply

