What’s on my bookshelf for the summer…

I’ve had my first lemonade. I’m on the listen for songs for my summer playlist. I’ve had a big ol’ BBQ in the backyard. My toes have been dipped into a chilly lake. I can feel it. Summer is nearly here. So I’m starting to daydream about all the books I’m going to have a chance to get to in a few weeks.

Absolutely at the top of my list is:

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. The only reason I haven’t read this yet is because I’ve been feeling kinda tired/grouchy and there was no way I was going to wreck this book by reading it from a tired/grouchy place. Cannot wait.

the story of us by Deb Caletti. Come on gang, that cover alone says summer, right? Deb Caletti is one of my surefire bet authors. I always love her characters and the way that her writing is loaded with so many sentences that beg you to stop and reread. Kirkus called it “chicklit for eggheads.” Yep, that’s it.

Pure by Julianna Baggott. Because it wouldn’t be summer without a good old postapocalyptic coming-of-age story. Besides, it’s pretty.

Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl. A crumbling castle, a heroine fit for an Austen novel, pending financial ruin, and reminiscent of one of my favourite novels of all, makes this just about irresistible.

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. Even though this one has had mixed reviews, it’s been on my list for such a long time, and summer when you can get to things you keep on saving for later. Plus, it’s about cake.

Imagine: How Creativity Works by Jonah Lehrer. A girl has to read something to make her smarter, and having heard Jonah Lehrer speak about Imagine, I’m excited to make it my nonfiction pick for the summer.

That’s my list so far. Can’t wait to get started!

Leave a Reply

