Poetry Friday: I heart Dennis Lee

61mkmd4jvbl_ss500_.jpg 

Dennis Lee… certainly one of the coolest and zaniest poets out there. And Canadian too – but of course! What proper kid has not gobbled up a little Alligator Pie and Garbage Delight? I remember when I was a kid, there was a girl in my class who carried around her copy of Alligator Pie for the whole Grade 4 year, with the aim of memorizing as many of the poems inside as possible. Along the way, she also helped a whole lot of the rest of us to memorize a fair share of them too. I can still do “Alligator Pie” – it’s just the kind of poem that goes in and doesn’t come out again.

One of Lee’s poems that I am especially fond of is Thinking in Bed. The first two lines capture my spirit this morning (and most mornings in fact):

Thinking in Bed – by Dennis Lee

I’m thinking in bed,
Cause I can’t get out
Till I learn how to think
What I’m thinking about;
What I’m thinking about
Is a person to be —
A sort of a person
Who feels like me…

For the rest – and a few others – visit poets.org. Or better, just find a kid who’s carrying around her own copy of one of Lee’s treasured collections. There’s bound to be one such kid out there.

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: I heart Dennis Lee

  1. cloudscome

    That’s me every morning too. Especially now, when it is so darn cold in the early dark. I have a lot of thinking to do before I can brave the cold.

Leave a Reply

