I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomoto (Pop-Up!)

In the words of wise, wise Mae West, “Too much of a good thing is wonderful.” This is most certainly true for any and all things conceived by Lauren Child.

I have just returned from The Flying Dragon , after a most successful Christmas shop. I discovered THE BEST BOOK for my niece, and snatched the last copy for my very own:

51nhhzgm-al_ss400_.jpg

Yes, yes, you say… I have seen this before. But no! You have not seen the Pop-Up edition!  Take a peek:

41kv-nhwqel_ss400_.jpg

Words cannot describe how completely irresistible this book is. Pop-ups do possess a particular ability to enchant grown ups and kids alike, and I must say that this one is no exception. Lauren Child’s wackiness is enhanced to perfection by the “paper-engineering” of Corina Fletcher. (Speaking of “paper-engineering” – doesn’t it just boggle the mind to think that there are people out there who get to do this for a living? What other crazy professions exist with hardly anyone knowing about them?) I don’t want to spoil the surprises, so let’s just say that Ms. Fletcher is one talented pop-up artist. Prepare to be amazed, and to get a few good chuckles along the way.

I was so excited by this gift that I’m going to have to ask my fella to hide it somewhere so that I don’t wear it out before I hand it over to my niece. I’ve looked around to find some of the other titles that Corina Fletcher has “engineered.” I for one, will be on the look out for more of her amazing work:

51a0nec8zvl_ss500_.jpg and 61wrjfv94tl_ss400_.jpgand

5163xz23wxl_ss500_.jpg

Bound to be pretty fantastic, I think.

I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomato, Pop-Up! by Lauren Child, with paper-engineering by Corina Fletcher, is published by Candlewick.

One thought on “I Will Never Not Ever Eat a Tomoto (Pop-Up!)

  1. Pingback: Saturday Review of Books: December 1, 2007 at Semicolon

Leave a Reply

