Party’s Over – Dishing on the ALA Awards

So I was up with the rest of the kids’ lit-loving world watching the live-stream video of the ALA awards announcements this morning. Boy was that exciting! (No really… in all geekyness, it was exciting). Now it’s all over – time for a little clean up. And who cleans up without complaining?

It seemed a pretty safe set of awards, without many surprises really. Here are the decisions: 2008 ALSC Literary Awards

What? Nothing for Leepike Ridge? Is there no justice? No reason? Did you people read that book?

I am now finished with the ranting. But seriously. How is it that some books (I will not mention names here) got 2 prizes, and Leepike (in my view one of the best written Middle Grade adventures out there, not to mention one of the most kid-appealing reads of recent memory), got nada? Phooey.

There are other things I could say, but I will attempt restraint. Any more cake?

(photo © Michael Jastremski for openphoto.net CC:Attribution-ShareAlike)

4 thoughts on “Party’s Over – Dishing on the ALA Awards

  1. shelfelf Post author

    I have not read Good Masters, but I fully intend to. Everyone who has written about it, has written good things, so I’m sure it was most worthy. And I loved A Drowned Maiden’s Hair.

Leave a Reply

