Library Envy

Books are becoming a big-ish problem in my house. I’m trying to decide how long we can pull off the “teetering-stacks-on-every-surface” look, a la Shakespeare & Co., or if that sort of disheveled design aesthetic only works long-term if you live in Paris, next to Notre Dame.

The library I have in mind looks something like this:

trinity-college-library-dub.jpg

That is the Trinity College Library, Dublin, as photographed by Candida Hofer. She has created a book that I now want (I think this is part of my problem). It’s called Libraries:

61fsay5g1gl_ss500_.jpg

If I can only figure out where it can go…

5 thoughts on “Library Envy

  1. Liz

    I am with you, never enough space for all the books I love. So, I made one of our bedrooms into a small library, and I gotta tell you, it’s heaven on earth. It even has a ladder, and real trees, From floor to ceiling, to make it ‘interesting’. We did this all on a tight budget, but it looks just like I dreamed of. It’s now our favorite spot to gather in our house. it’s amazing what you can do in a small space, if you have enough drive and ambition.
    If you’re interested in seeing pics, email me and I will send you our website address.
    I checked my local library, they don’t carry the “Libraries” book you mentioned, and the price is a little steep for me…but I will continue checking for used, cheaper copies. Thanks for the info.
    So many books, so little time….

  2. Colleen McWilliams

    There’s no passion like it. I think Borges said that he hoped Paradise would be like some sort of library. I hope he’s right.

Leave a Reply

