Elf Envy: Random Round Up

A few bits and bobs from around and about:

I’m currently reading Blue Balliett’s latest book, The Calder Game. So I enjoyed the recent interview in Newsweek in which Blue discusses lots of things, from mobiles to movie rights.

I just finished The Adoration of Jenna Fox this morning. Talk about a page-turner. (Review to come soon!) I’ve been thinking about it all day long. So many discussion-inspiring topics in this book. If you’ve read it, or if you haven’t, you should check out the great interview with Mary E. Pearson over at Cynsations. It makes me love the book even more.

As if I needed another reason to get myself a copy of Maureen Johnson’s latest book. In her review, bookshelves of doom calls Suite Scarlett, “fun times a bazillion.” And it’s going to be a series! Woot!

Then there is this treasure:

I’ve got a few DVDs of the British version of Creature Comforts, but I hadn’t seen this one. Ha ha ha. Thanks Shelf Talker for sharing. (Can you get over the dog who is a “print-maker.” I guess art really is in the eye of the beholder!). This short seems to belong with Jon Scieszka’s Seen Art?.

Ta ta!

4 thoughts on “Elf Envy: Random Round Up

  1. Melissa

    Hi Shelf Elf! I did my final prize drawings for the Expanding Horizons Challenge and you won the runner-up prize (bookmarks and chocolate…). Let me know what chocolate preferences you have and where to send the prize at mmfbooks at gmail dot com. Congratulations!

  2. shelfelf Post author

    I won! I won! Yippee! Hooray! I never win anything. I love chocolate. And bookmarks.

  3. Tasha

    How is THE CALDER GAME?? I just got a copy of it the other day and haven’t had a chance to pick it up yet. I loved the first to books and am really hoping this one is just as good.

  4. shelfelf Post author

    I found with Blue Balliett’s first two books that they both took a while to hook me, but when they did, I just couldn’t stop reading. I’m finding it’s the same with The Calder Game. I really like Petra, and so far, she hasn’t figured much in the story, so that’s a slight negative. I’m curious to see where Balliett takes the whole mobile concept – different pieces (characters) moving around in seemingly independent ways that together create a unified idea/work of art. And of course, Brett Helquist’s illustrations rock. I’ll be curious to see what you think of it.

Leave a Reply

