Ode to Jellaby

As mentioned in my post below, I’ve got Odes on the brain this month. So, I thought I would depart from the typical and offer up an Ode to Jellaby rather than a conventional review of Kean Soo’s adorable, lovely graphic novel. (No rhyming folks… it’s Sunday morning and I’ve only had one cup of coffee). Ahem:

Ode to Jellaby

Oh Jellaby, how do I love thee? Let me count the ways.
Thou art purple,
a secret,
a gentle giant.

Thou art a faithful friend to young Portia,
an eater of tuna fish sandwiches,
cut flowers
and ramen.

Thou art loyal,
and bold,
an outsider
far from home.

Thou art… a dinosaur?
A dragon?
An imaginary friend?

Whatever thou art, Jellaby,
this much is true,
I’m more than ready
for more of you.

Here’s some more Jellaby love:

Fuse’s Review
100 Scope Notes Review
A 7-year old’s review over at 123oleary

Leave a Reply

