A Prize fit for a President (or President’s daughter)

ellen1ellen2ellen3ellen4

This is very cool. In honour of the inauguration of Barack Obama today, readergirlz has joined up with Feiwel & Friends to give away 25 complete 4-book sets of Ellen Emerson White’s President’s Daughter series. If you haven’t read these books, this is a BIG treat. I have only read Ellen’s most recent title in the series: Long May She Reign. It was brilliant, so I can’t wait to read the first three books.

So visit the readergirlz blog and comment on the contest post by January 31st for your shot at some seriously fine White House-inspired reading.

3 thoughts on “A Prize fit for a President (or President’s daughter)

  1. Claire

    This morning in the car I kept thinking about how Sasha and Malia have to go to their new school on Monday, and I realized that my perception of the presidency is now permanently colored by Ellen Emerson White! I can totally picture the family’s first day in the White House, finding their familiar furniture in this unfamiliar setting and fending off endless offers of food from the staff. And I’m so full of appreciation for the Obamas bringing Ms. Robinson with them to the White Houes: if only Meg had had Trudy or her actual grandmother there, everything would have been better! I’ve been thinking about The President’s Daughter since the election campaign began.

    I’m not sure how meticulously Ms. White researched her book and how accurate my mental image is, but I’ll never look at a Presidential family the same way again.

  2. shelfelf Post author

    Claire – even though I’ve only read the most recent book, I couldn’t agree with you more. It has changed the way I think about the White House, what it would be like to live there, to be a kid/teen there. I love the story.

Leave a Reply

