I need a book that’s as happy-making as Coconut Banana Cake…

Gosh I’m feeling completely flat. Tired. Grouchy. Not-very-smart.

So I did what I often do when I’m in a funk. I baked cake. This cake:

cake2

I may have temporarily lost my creative mojo, but I can still bake with the best of ’em.

What I need now is a book that will prove to be as happy-making as Coconut Banana Cake. Wish I hadn’t already read The Spellman Files… twice. That book has the same happy-making powers as coconut cake, for sure.

(Right now reading Impulse for readergirlz… impressive but so not the right book for my current mood)

Suggestions?

10 thoughts on “I need a book that’s as happy-making as Coconut Banana Cake…

  1. erin mcintosh

    Oh YUM. Man that looks good.

    As for yummy, fun reads…
    The Year of Secret Assignments by Jaclyn Moriarty
    Sorcery and Cecilia by Patricia C. Wrede and Caroline Stevermer
    Evil Genius (and sequel Genius Squad) by Catherine Jinks

  2. Vivian

    Wow. It must be nice to know how to whip something as beautiful as the cake when you’re in a funk. As for a happy book, hmmm. I’m going to have to think about that. Everything I’ve been reading lately is filled with angst.

  3. shelfelf Post author

    Sending you a virtual slice Staci!

    Erin – The Year of Secret Assignments is just the sort of book I’m thinking about… I’ve read it, but you’ve got me thinking maybe I should try another Jaclyn Moriarty (I haven’t read feeling sorry for Celia and I’ve been meaning to). Thanks for the suggestions!

    Vivian – I hear ya on the angst. Your blog suggestions completely made me laugh! Perfect with a big ol’ slice of coconut cake. Thanks!

  4. Little Willow

    Fun fantasy books:
    The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
    Owlboy by Thomas E. Sniegoski
    The Magic in Manhattan books by Sarah Mlynowski

    Modern day comedies:
    Better Latte Than Never by Catherine Clark (previous title: Frozen Rodeo)
    Alice, I Think by Susan Juby (and others in that series)
    Good Enough by Paula Yoo
    Ella Minnow Pea by Mark Dunn

  5. Doret

    Man, that looks good-
    These books will make you laugh out loud.

    What Would Emma Do?
    Kiss Me Kill me
    I Put a Spell on You
    Dear Julia
    My Most Excellent Year

    And one adult mystery
    Beat the Reaper

  6. shelfelf Post author

    LW – I’ve been wanting to read the Magic in Manhattan series for a while… this might be the moment! Alice I Think is one of my favs – one of the funniest books I’ve read. I adore it.

    Doret – I’ll have to check your suggestions out. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

