Monday’s Zen Moment: Picture & Poem

In an effort to set aside a sliver of zen time in my Monday insanity, I’ve decided to start a new weekly feature here at Shelf Elf. I’m calling it “Zen Monday.” I’ll post a picture that I hope might inspire you – and me – to carve a minute or two of quiet out of our busy Mondays. I’m going to try to manage to write a poem too. Like today.

bird

Next

Little bird
on the bridge
perched at the edge
he takes in the day

– the sky
the water
the feet passing by –

and lifts his wings
to catch the air
deciding
where the wind
will take him
next

_________

copyright K. Millar, 2009
please do not reprint without permission

(Photo by Auro. See it and lots more of her lovely stuff at Flickr.)

2 thoughts on “Monday’s Zen Moment: Picture & Poem

Leave a Reply

