Poetry Friday: Issa’s Cherry Blossoms

Around this time of year there’s this part of me that aches a little bit for the house where I grew up, which my mom sold several summers ago. Right about now everything will be starting to bloom. The lilacs all along the roadside will be coming out in a few weeks and it will be glorious and fragrant. I used to wander down the concession in the spring when I was a kid with a pair of scissors in one hand, and come back home again with my arms full of flowers. I could barely believe that they just grew on the side of the road and they didn’t really belong to anyone. It made me think the world was wonderful, to make something so beautiful just because, not for anyone in particular.

This haiku made me remember those days and wish I could go back again.

in my old home
which I forsook, the cherries
are in bloom
– Issa

(photo © Michael Jastremski for openphoto.net CC:Attribution-ShareAlike)

One thought on “Poetry Friday: Issa’s Cherry Blossoms

  1. Andromeda Jazmon

    Ah, so sad and so beautiful! Perfectly fits the mood of your story. I remember the joy of cutting lilacs by the armfuls as a child also. The world full of joy and wonder! Thanks for posting this today.

Leave a Reply

