Zen Monday: Picture + Poem

apartment

Still Life

If I could
step out of me
see into the rooms of my life,
my house, my closet, my corners
myself

All those small things
everyday spaces
lost in time
in the whirl of days and lists and dust
and doing

The afternoon light,
the window left open
my mother’s old rug
the plant with the purple flowers
on the ledge
growing, leaning a little more
each day

Things so much
the same
still,
waiting,
exactly where I left them
by accident, on purpose
waiting right there
obvious and mysterious
questions and answers
all at once

(Copyright K. Millar 2009. Please do not reprint without permission).

(Photo by Mahalie)

2 thoughts on “Zen Monday: Picture + Poem

Leave a Reply

