Zen Monday: Picture + Poem

growanyway

Growing Anyway

On a day when everything
seems to be conspiring
against hope,
the good things
shrinking
into dark corners,

When there is no room for wonder
and dreaming
takes a holiday,
all gets shriveled down
to miserable items on a list
of endless
chores.

I hardly noticed you,
tiny weed,
rooted in the stone steps
in my back garden.

Part of me was desperate
to yank you out,
the way I feel
pulled away from
all that really matters.

But I let you be
in your rocky nook,
growing anyway.

Today’s lesson:
take green
wherever
you find it.

(Copyright K. Millar, 2009. Please do not reprint without permission).

(Photo by Celine Nadeau).

4 thoughts on “Zen Monday: Picture + Poem

  1. shelfelf Post author

    Thanks Erin! I’m not much of a weed-puller-outer. I tend to let them alone, much to the annoyance of some more meticulous gardeners.

  2. shelfelf Post author

    Thanks Cath! Any excuse to wait on the weeding is a good one, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

