Audio Recs anyone?

So I’ve been listening to this on my iPod:

rumors

which has proven to be entertaining for two reasons:

1) It is a total soap opera which is about all my brain can take in right now given my completely insane workload of doom,

and

2) The narrator keeps on mispronouncing most words that are somewhat obscure / mildly literary so much so that I laugh out loud. How ’bout this? Ennui pronounced N – U – I, as in the letters N, U, I. Har har har.

Today, in the mail, I received the audiobook for this:

evermore

THANK YOU Macmillan audio fairies! I’m hoping this one won’t inspire guffaws.

Does anyone out there have any fav audiobooks to recommend? It’s been hit and miss for me ever since I started listening about a year ago, so I’m up for some suggestions. Off for a little more Rumors trashy romance…

8 thoughts on “Audio Recs anyone?

  1. Angie

    Not a trashy romance. But two of my favorite audiobooks of the last long while are 13 Reasons Why (as most of the story is a girl talking into a tape recorder anyway …) by Jay Asher and The Wish List (seriously funny, funny character accents) by Eoin Colfer.

  2. Trisha

    I heart the first *counts fingers* five Artemis Fowl audiobooks, the ones read by Nathaniel Parker. (Well, except for the first half hour or so of #1 and the way Parker pronounces Nguyen.)

    The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman, read by Anton Lesser is also excellent, Libba Bray’s Gemma Doyle books read by Jo Wyatt, Sabriel by Garth Nix, read by Tim Curry (obviously, I like the ones read by folks with a British accent).

    Oh, and the first three Princess Diaries books by Meg Cabot, read by Anne Hathaway.

  3. Lady-S

    Nothing I’ve listened to so far has matched Sherman Alexie reading The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian, but you may have read it already. Another one I loved was The Foreshadowing by Marcus Sedgewick, read by Anna Martin Maxwell. It’s slightly abridged but I thought that actually improved it and her reading is glorious.

    Also enjoyed Flora Segunda and am now listening to The Order of Odd-Fish by James Kennedy, which I like but I think I’d rather read it than listen.

  4. Michelle Holt

    A few months ago I listened to Haven Kimmel’s A girl named Zippy and I laughed out loud coming and going to work!! The author reads it and that makes all the difference-her inflections and language are just perfect!

  5. Mary Ann

    My favorite from this year has to be Skulduggery Pleasant – fun adventure fantasy, fantastic performance, great characters.

    I’ve just started listening to Marcello in the Real World. Totally different vibe – almost understated so far, but very interesting story of a young autistic man and his experience as he goes to work in his father’s legal office mail room.

    Good luck and keep sharing!

  6. Priya

    I don’t listen to many audiobooks, but a lot of friends have been recommending the Harry Potter ones. (Narrated by Jim Dale)

  7. Erin Fitzpatrick-Bjorn

    I listen to lots of audio books. Here are some of my faves (mostly YA, but not all):

    Everything by David Sedaris (but beware, you WILL be laughing out loud, so be careful where you listen

    The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks

    Alphabet of Dreams

    Broken for You

    The Opposite of Invisible

    The Graveyard Book (confession – I haven’t yet listened to more than a minute, but how could one NOT love listening to hours upon hours of Neil Gaiman.)

    The Other Boelyn Girl

    Ten Things I Hate About Me

    Animal Vegetable Miracle

    Peeling the Onion

Leave a Reply

