Twenty Boy Summer Giveaway

TwentyBoySummer_bookcover

*The giveaway has ended. Thanks for your best summer stories! You will receive an email if you are one of the winners.*

Today I am happy to announce another giveaway. This time, 5 winners will each receive a hardcover copy of Sarah Ockler’s debut, Twenty Boy Summer. This one is high on my TBR list. Here’s a teaser:

“Don’t worry, Anna. I’ll tell her, okay? Just let me think about the best way to do it.”
“Okay.”
“Promise me? Promise you won’t say anything?”
“Don’t worry.” I laughed. “It’s our secret, right?”

According to her best friend Frankie, twenty days in Zanzibar Bay is the perfect opportunity to have a summer fling, and if they meet one boy every day, there’s a pretty good chance Anna will find her first summer romance. Anna lightheartedly agrees to the game, but there’s something she hasn’t told Frankie—she’s already had that kind of romance, and it was with Frankie’s older brother, Matt, just before his tragic death one year ago.

Beautifully written and emotionally honest, this is a debut novel that explores what it truly means to love someone and what it means to grieve, and ultimately, how to make the most of every single moment this world has to offer.

Here is a video of Sarah chatting about her book:

So, to enter, all you need to do is leave a comment below, sharing one of your best summer memories ever. The contest will run until June 30ish.

26 thoughts on “Twenty Boy Summer Giveaway

  1. Mrs. F-B

    One of my best summer memories ever is spending a week in the real Zanzibar and walking out in the Indian Ocean every day when the tide was low for literally miles. It would never get deep and it was the most amazing color. Plus there were incredible starfish and seaweed farmers harvesting. Incredible.

  2. Megan

    My best summer memory would be the entire summer between my sophomore and junior year of high school. I had just gotten my driver’s license, and had more freedom than I had ever experienced before. I was in a summer musical with a community theater company. We would rehearse every afternoon, and then go to the director’s house for a pool party almost every evening. It was such a carefree time and lifelong friendships were developed!

  3. mindy

    picking blueberries day and night we used to go away for the summers and the property we stood on was riddled with blueberries it was always a hunt for the bush with the most blueberries

  4. Mary Ward

    One of my best summer memories ever was a week that I spent with a friend’s family at Shaver Lake. The oldest sister had a boyfriend working there and they rented a little house down the road from the lake. We would walk down to the lake everyday. There was even a dance the last night we were there.

  5. brenda helgeson

    the year a spent a month with my girlfriends traveling around the u.s. in a rv. it sounds stupid now and scary now, but we were young and carefree then (the best time to do it) and had a blast

  6. sandy

    long ago just hanging out and being free, not attached to video games but outside till after dark and remembering the exploring and traveling where we should not have gone

  7. Priya

    Best summer memory: hanging out at the library with my friends, chatting, deciding what we wanted to buy from the vending machine, and discussing our favorite books.🙂

  8. scottsgal

    We used to have a large cabin cruiser so I remember growing up spending summers up at the lake on the boat cruising and hanging out with friends and family.

  9. Heather M

    I loved just being free, and going to parties whenever I felt like it! Now I’m a mother and have given all that up. However, Still love to go to the beach!! We will be spending LOTS of time there this summer as it’s only 2 miles away!! Thanks

  10. Tasses

    My favorite summer memory doesn’t involve any boys. It involves going to stay with my aunt in Florida and feeling like I was an adult for the first time, like I had my own identity, my own life waiting on me. I was 10.

  11. Belinda

    The best Summer that I spent was when I first got my driver’s license. We would go fishing and then come home and grill our catch.
    Thanks!

  12. Mary D

    My best summer memory was when, at age 25, I was finally able to travel to meet my birth family for the first time! Finding out you are 11 out of 17 brothers and sisters was absolutely mind-blowing, and the laughter, tears and stories shared was something that I will treasure always!!!!

  13. Celia

    Hiked up steep, cobblestone streets in colonial Brazilian towns last summer with my best friend (she also happens to be my sister!). We gasped at the exertion, laughed at our terrible conditioning, and took marvelous photos of Baroque churches and the landscape. Seriously perfect.

  14. Thao

    It seems plain but I missed the summer when my BFF’s parents were away for a long time and I went to her house like every single day. We had fun hanging around or just messing up the kitchen. It was super duper cool.

    Please enter me. I’d love to win the book😀

  15. Marie

    Well, it’s silly but my best summer was one when I was in high school before I had a “real” job and I spent most of the summer hanging around, reading books, watching TV and just being lazy. I miss those days🙂

  16. Yan

    My favorite memory would have to be the one when I visited my cousins house when I was like 11. I stayed for like a week where me and my little cousin–just by a year–played in the background, smashed mushrooms (you know, those giant orange ones that just squish under you foot!), hide-and-seek, collecting acorns (and these little pink fuzzy nuts), raising caterpillars, and learning how to ride a bike. Add a swimming pool, a flower tree in the front yard (which we would always pick fresh flowers for the vases) and that equals a week load of fun-ness. I usually beg my parents to let me stay an extra week ehehe

  17. summer

    My favorite summer memories are from camping with my family at Bear Lake. My dad used to make the greatest sandcastles. Giant with an abundance of detail in them. Took him hours and hours to do. I will always remember those castles.

  18. Sarah Z

    We would spend the summers at my grandma’s and I remember it had rained one day and we slide down a huge hill that was all mud!
    Thanks

  19. Mishia

    My best summer memory was a few years ago when I spent everyday of summer break hanging out and bonding with my cousins.

  20. Rosela

    My best summer memory was back in 2006, when my parents gave me the best birthday present ever fo4r my 17th birthday which was to visit my family across Europe in Italy and Greece. I had so much fun that I felt like I was back home.

  21. Paradox

    One of my favorite summer memories is of a summer recreation “camp” held at the local school when I was 5-6. I made a lot of friends and the counselors started this huge game called “Predator, Prey” that was played on all the school grounds and sports fields. The other kids and I made secret hideouts, invented games, and convinced ourselves that we’d found a magic rock, which supposedly later turned out to be evil, so we threw it out before any bad luck could continue. It was awesome!

  22. Bianca

    One of my best favorite memories is going to Chicago for the first time with my family. We had an incredible time. We went to the aquarium and went to the lakes.🙂

  23. Eleni

    Hmm my fave summer memory would have to be going crabbing with my whole family, I always had fun with them when I was young…now all we do is fight lol. But yeah that was my favorite thing to do, but once a dog ended up chasing me and that wasn’t so fun hehe

    Thanks! Please enter me ;P

    -Eleni
    lafemmereaders@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

