Poetry Friday: Reverie in Open Air

Something summery.

Reverie in Open Air – by Rita Dove

I acknowledge my status as a stranger:
Inappropriate clothes, odd habits
Out of sync with wasp and wren.
I admit I don’t know how
To sit still or move without purpose.
I prefer books to moonlight, statuary to trees.

But this lawn has been leveled for looking,
So I kick off my sandals and walk its cool green…

Find the rest at the Poetry Out Loud site.

(photo © Andrzej G for openphoto.net CC:Attribution).

3 thoughts on “Poetry Friday: Reverie in Open Air

  1. susan

    The link says she’s the second African American woman to be named Poet Laureat. I always thought she was the first? Who is the first then?

Leave a Reply

