Hush, Hush

hushhushThis was fun, and that’s quite the compliment because I have been in a distinctly intolerant mood for all Twilighty-type books of late. At the bookstore these past few weekends I can hardly bear to look at the Twilight & clones bookshelf (it is a large bookshelf people) because seeing all of those books almost forces me to roll my eyes and shake my head and mutter things under my breath. How is it possible that there are so many books, recently published, that are basically the same story? Are we not yet full of forbidden love? It just gets so very boring with capital B after a while. Becca Fitzpatrick’s upcoming debut, Hush, Hush does have a certain moody/cursed romantic resemblance to a particular famous vampire love story that does not need to be named here, and I can imagine it shelved someplace on the aforementioned bookcase, but I am happy to report that it entertains and did not make me want to roll my eyes or poke them out and with a cover like that, it will practically walk out of the store itself I should think. (Wondrous Reads has a cool feature on the cover that is worth checking out).

Nora Grey is a girl with some issues. Since her father’s murder, she and her mom live in a spooky type farmhouse on the outskirts of town. Her mom travels a lot, and Nora spends a lot of time home alone in said spooky farmhouse (cue fog machine). At school, she mostly hangs out with her best friend Vee until she meets Patch, a mysterious guy who knows just how to drive Nora nuts. She can’t decide how she feels about him, and it seems like he’s always there every time she turns around. As it turns out, Nora has every reason to feel uncertain about Patch. He is no ordinary guy, and the more Nora gets close to Patch, the more risks she takes. That’s about as far as I can go without spoilers because that’s when things get really interesting.

Hush, Hush has great atmosphere. Towards the end of the novel, when the plot really hit high speed, I found myself thinking that I hadn’t read a book with such strong suspense for a while. Becca Fitzpatrick is good at scary and at creating lots of different believable options for bad guys (and girls). Patch is an unusual character, magnetic and complicated. I found him the most interesting and well-developed character in the novel by far (Vee a close second) and he is definitely a major reason I would want to continue the series. By the end of Hush, Hush you still have the feeling that you’ve only just begun to learn about him, his motivations and his plans.

I imagine Hush, Hush will be a huge hit with teens, Twilight fans and otherwise. It’s a page-turner and it puts just enough of a spin on the tortured love scenarios we’ve seen over and over. Read it this October no matter what shelf it’s on in the bookstore.

Hush, Hush is published by Simon & Schuster.

2 thoughts on “Hush, Hush

  1. Charlotte

    I’d read other reviews, but hadn’t quite put it on my list yet. The strong suspense bit of your review has tipped me in that direction!

  2. Pingback: Hush, Hush « Book Shop Girl

Leave a Reply

