Owly Goodness

Hey, did you know one of my favourite, often-unmentioned Harry Potter characters is Pigwidgeon? I was just re-listening to HP 4 last weekend, and the scene when Pig shows up with a letter for Harry at the Dursleys made me remember him. J.K. says he’s a Scops owl. That means he is this cute:

scops

May I ask why we did not see more of Pig in the films? Come on! When something is that high up on the adorable scale, a filmmaker ought to just make the most of it, I’d say.

Actually, come to think of it, I just love owls, period. And anything owly. Like these books:

Little Hoot, by Amy Krouse Rosenthal

Owl Babies, by Martin Waddell

The Owl Who Was Afraid of the Dark, by Jill Tomlinson

Owl Moon, by Jane Yolen

The Owl and the Pussycat, illustrated by Stéphane Jorisch

And this bag:

owlbag

Made by Lynda Lye (super talented artist gal – check out her blog) and it’s available at littleoddforest on etsy. Only don’t buy it, because I want it. Actually, there are zillions of owly things on etsy. That is scary.

(Adorable owl photo by Brian Scott)

3 thoughts on “Owly Goodness

  1. Jill

    Um have you checked out my blog ;) And you better snap that bag up fast or I will! I go crazy with the number of owls on Etsy!

  2. Ashley

    I just read a really cute owl book today for storytime. It’s called Wow! Said the Owl by Tim Hopgood. Also, I love the bag- it is super cute.

Leave a Reply

