Free laughs for writers

For several months, I’ve been making the habit of writing, as close to every day as I can manage. I’m trying to think of what I’m working on as a really long story. Or some days it’s better if I look at it as a whole lot of single pages strung along one after the next. It’s a lot less terrifying than whispering the “b” word (“book”).

Up until this week, I was feeling fairly invincible. Things were ticking along nicely. And then… not so much. Characters have betrayed me. Yesterday I did more yawning than writing. There has been some slowing down. Some doubting. Some self-pity. A little misery.

I have decided laughter is one cure for this grey place I’m in, because I am not about to give up. I hope to find my way to the end of my long story somehow. Today I discovered these two laughs, made for writers by writers:

That Jackson Pearce, she’s a funny one.

And from a second clever and hilarious Jac… Jaclyn Moriarty has a list of cures for writer’s block I’ll bet you’ve never tried before. I am about to see how #3 works for me.

Or maybe I just need to change my name to Jac?

(photo from stockxchng)

6 thoughts on “Free laughs for writers

  1. James Preller

    >> There has been some slowing down. Some doubting. Some self-pity. A little misery. <<

    Sounds to me like you are exactly on track! You didn't think it would be all rainbows and unicorns, did you?

    Seriously: Keep it up, keep on going, you can do it.

    I don't really believe in writer's block, frankly. But I will concede there are times when we're stuck. And what I've learned is that most of the time it's a result of BORING MYSELF. That's a no-no. Find a way to bring your work to a place that entertains and interests you . . . even if it means skipping around a bit.

    And good luck!

    JP

  2. shelfelf Post author

    Thanks James! I know, it’s not all unicorns, but I was hoping to extend the “unicorns and rainbows” stage for just a wee bit longer.🙂 Good advice on the skipping around strategy. I resist that, but I think I’m going to give it a go.

  3. James Preller

    My approach varies from book to book, but I will often begin by delving into a few “fence post” scenes. That is, very rough drafts of key scenes that I know will happen in the story. I can later go back to string the barbed wire, or transitional scenes, between the posts. Eventually, as things become clearer, I’ll work in chronological order.

    Does that make any sense?

    If I’m stuck, if I’m bored, if I’m unhappy — anything that gets me writing is a good thing. And, yes, sometimes those scenes get thrown out later on.

    Sorry, don’t mean to make this about me, we’re all different, just trying to encourage you through those periods of doubt and self-pity.

  4. worddreams

    I find laughter works in my novel also, when it bogs down. I have a character who has a good sense of humor, so when I need him to lighten the mood–there he is.

    Thanks for lightening mine!

Leave a Reply

