Daily Archives: June 26, 2010

city dog, country frog

I was buying a few things at one of my local bookstores last week when I spotted city dog, country frog behind the counter at the front cash. I saw that it was written by Mo Willems and illustrated by Jon J. Muth and then I said, “And I think I need one of those too.” I’d be hard pressed to think of a more impressive author-illustrator team. I didn’t read it until I got home. Then I read it, and cried. It is lovely in every way. The words and art are perfectly matched and perfectly pitched: quiet, soft and dreamy.

It’s a friendship story. Dog meets frog. They enjoy being together, having good times through the seasons. After that, things get sad, but it’s a touching kind of sad, not a “you’ll have to look for this book in the Grief/Issues section of the bookstore” kind of sad. This book is poignant and understated and likely to inspire rereading.

In my view, Jon J. Muth can do no wrong; Mo Willems, same. A book by two über talented artists. Go get your own copy to get teary over.

city dog, country frog is published by Hyperion.