How to Train Your Dragon

When I worked at The Flying Dragon, whenever I spotted Cressida Cowell’s How to Train Your Dragon on the shelf, I always felt guilty. Here was an adorable-looking dragon book that I had not read, and here I was, working in The Flying Dragon. It was wrong, so wrong. I still have not read How to Train Your Dragon, but I just watched the movie and I am in love with it. It was brilliant. And cute. And heartwarming. And funny. And the animation was mind-blowing. (Gush, gush, gush. Side note: in another life, I would have the ability to draw dragons and be really, really good with computers and I would work for Pixar or DreamWorks and everyday I would be amazed by my incredible good luck to do something so beyond belief and so tremendously fun).

So the moment has arrived. I vow to read How to Train Your Dragon. I am about to order it from the library, and I am thrilled to report that there are eight titles in the series. Yay for me.

Here is a video of Cressida, speaking about the books at a literary festival:

Here’s the trailer for the movie, which you must see:

Toothless looks so much like my Siamese cat, who is almost as dangerous (and can almost fly).

Review to follow soon!

One thought on “How to Train Your Dragon

  1. Andrea

    We just watched How To Train Your Dragon for family movie night on Friday, and I completely agree with you! I haven’t read the book(s) yet, either, but I LOVED the movie. It was so clever and funny and sweet. And yes, visually stunning! My oldest two kids (ages 7 and 9) have read the books and loved them, and although they were surprised at how different the movie was from the book, they loved the movie just like my husband and I did. I’m planning to read the books soon; but in the meantime, I’ll be interested to read your review. Great post!

Leave a Reply

