Poetry: The Grasshopper

3714244770_00d5dafe05_b(2)

I love this poem. Unfortunately I can’t seem to figure out how to get silly WordPress to let me fix up the indents properly, so you don’t get the full effect. Still lovely.

The Grasshopper – by Conrad Aiken

Grasshopper
grasshopper
all day long
we hear your scraping
summer song
like
rusty
fiddles
in
the
grass
as through
the meadow
path
we pass
such funny legs
such funny feet
and how we wonder
what you eat
maybe a single blink of dew
sipped from a clover leaf would do
then high in air
once more you spring
to fall in grass again
and sing.

(From Poetry Foundation. They’ve got a list of Sublime Summer Poems that’s well worth exploring).

Photo: by Kellyv on Flickr

3 thoughts on “Poetry: The Grasshopper

  1. Mary Lee Hahn

    What is it about grasshoppers? They are easy enough to catch, but scary enough to let go of quickly — especially after they spit tobacco in your hand! But they are quintessentially SUMMER, that’s for true.

  2. Andromeda Jazmon

    Funny I think of grasshoppers in Sept. when they are in their final songs and seems to be everywhere on my walks through the field next to school. I don’t hear them as much in summer. Maybe I need to be out in the fields more. Thanks for sharing this!

  3. Mary Sias

    When I was in grade school in the 1930’s, every teacher had a little book of poems on her desk – it had things like The Purple Cow and The Puffin. There was also one that I believe was called Grasshoppers. and began
    “High up over the top……..
    The grasshoppers hop

    I would love to find a copy of that one if anyone knows it.

Leave a comment