Poetry Friday: The Orange

I’ve enjoyed many of Wendy Cope’s poems. This one is a favourite, and feels especially right at the moment. When I have a terrifying To-Do list, it helps to remember that simple, daily pleasures matter a lot and sometimes restore perspective.

The Orange – by Wendy Cope

At lunchtime I bought a huge orange
The size of it made us all laugh.
I peeled it and shared it with Robert and Dave—
They got quarters and I had a half.

And that orange it made me so happy,
As ordinary things often do
Just lately. The shopping. A walk in the park
This is peace and contentment. It’s new.

The rest of the day was quite easy.
I did all my jobs on my list
And enjoyed them and had some time over.
I love you. I’m glad I exist.

From the Poetry Out Loud site.

(photo © Darren Hester for openphoto.net CC:Attribution-NonCommercial)

1 thought on “Poetry Friday: The Orange

  1. Jenny

    What a great poem! It will now be one of my favorites too. The good things and the hard things in life are all made up of small details… Thanks for sharing.

Leave a comment